Offering grants to organizations that improve the health and well-being of Canton residents, for over 50 years.

Grants and Scholarships Awarded for 2018

June 6, 2018

On June 6, 2018, the Canton Community Health Fund (CCHF) awarded nearly $29,000 to projects that promote the health

Cherry Brook Teachers Lisa Nanni, Ann Atwood, Jessica Papp and CCHF Board member Janot Bente


and well-being of Canton residents. CCHFalso provided $1,000 scholarships to four Canton high school seniors pursuing careers in a health-related field. CCHF’s soundfinancial stewardship has resulted in the ability to continue to donate substantial funds to the community this year. CCHF has given 5 percent of the value of its fund annually for over 50 years.

This year’s thirteen recipients represent initiatives that benefit everyone from Canton’s youth to seniors with grants ranging from $500 – $5,000. “We’re so pleased to be able to support so many worthy efforts in our town,” says Lynn Miner, Chair of CCHF.

A new request from teachers at Cherry Brook Primary school will provide fresh fruit to students at snack time.

The Canton Food and Fuels Banks both received awards to continue their efforts to support individuals and families in need.

Sgt. Mark Penney, Dr. Jordan Grossman and CCHF Board member Ann Bryan

This year CCHF awarded a grant for an AED machine for the new Town Garage. AED machines have been purchased with previous grants for nearly every municipal building in town. Also funded was a request from the Canton Board of Eduction and the Canton Police Department for “Stop the Bleed” kits which will enable schools to address emergency situations before first responders arrive.

CCHF approved the final amount needed by the Canton Booster Club to meet it’s goal for installing permanent lights at the Canton High School track.

The Canton High School Substance Free Graduation party, Focus on Canton and the SpiritHorse Therapeutic Riding Center all received grants.

The four Canton seniors pursuing an education in a health-related field who were awarded the Dr. Diters Scholarship are Jane Frawley, Christina Gorbenko, Anna Poleyestaw and Connor Treadwell. The scholarship was named after Dr. Diters, a beloved family physician who practiced medicine in Canton for many years.

CCHF is a private, nonprofit foundation run by an all-volunteer board of Canton residents. Founded over 50 years ago, CCHF’s original funds came from generous donations from Canton residents to the Canton VNA. When that organization merged with McLean in 1997, a fund was established to ensure those donations stayed in Canton to benefit Canton residents.

CCHF welcomes any organization that improves the health and well-being of Canton residents to apply for funding by completing a simple online application. Canton high school seniors can apply for the annual Dr. Diters scholarship through the Canton High School guidance office.

To apply for a grant or scholarship, see past recipients, make a donation or join the CCHF board, visit

Last modified: June 7, 2018

Leave a Reply